Confessions of a Mom, Teacher, and Writer

This year was supposed to be my YEAR of WRITING, but something happened. Life.

The truth is that I let life overwhelm me for a bit.

So in an attempt to help me put every worry in it’s place and remember what is really important in our short lives…here are my confessions:

  1. I am a helicopter mom. I never wanted to be. In fact, I thought I would be that cool, easy going mom. I can be…sometimes, but I am mainly that overprotective mom. He is always supervised. If we are at a store and he walks to another aisle where I cannot see him for even a second….I panic. I literally panic. There are so many evils in this world and the thought of anything happening to him is a pain that I cannot explain. I feel guilt when I have to leave my son for even doctor’s appointments or to work out. I feel guilt when I say no to playing so I can write…so lately, I haven’t written much. I used to write when my son went to bed, but I haven’t done much of that either. Life burned me out a bit. I am a special education teacher and IEPs, students being added to my caseload, figuring out scheduling, etc, etc., it all exhausted me. By the end of the day, I just didn’t feel like thinking anymore. Also, dealing with my mom’s Alzheimer’s has made me feel like I must spend every moment with my son making memories. So that is what I have done. However, that also means putting my dreams on hold and that is not what I want to show my son. I have always  believed you must go for your dreams and never give up. I would like to teach  my son that as well.  That means I need to find balance so that I can show my son I am always there for him, but that his mom also has dreams to chase. First thing to do this summer? Create a writing schedule that I can stick to and that works for my son’s schedule too. Win win.
  2. Self doubt has been growing roots. I didn’t mean to let those seeds of self doubt grow, but they did. I entered a contest and received negative feedback. My last book didn’t get many reviews nor did many people buy it, yet it is my favorite book that I have written. Slowly those seeds of doubt became long roots with thorns that grew so deep that I stopped writing for a bit. Every time I thought about writing, those thorns dug deeper and whispered “you suck” and I listened. Oh man did I listen. Then something happened this past weekend: someone said something so rude to me that it truly crushed me. I woke up the next morning and realized not everyone has to like how my hair looks or what I write or the tattoos I have, etc., etc. Why have I been caring so much? I do want to one day make a living as a writer, but that doesn’t have to mean that everyone has to love my writing. There are a lot of famous authors that I just don’t like to read their work, but others love them. There are a lot of authors that I love that have self published their work, yet they have received rejections as well. Second thing to do this summer? Remind myself that as long as I do my best, work hard for what I want then that is all that matters. Someone will like my writing so I will write for myself and those readers.
  3. Speaking of roots….  Since I learned about my mother’s condition, I have decided to be a more healthy version of myself. I am eating better, exercising more, and have decided that putting chemicals on my head every three weeks to cover my grey isn’t healthy so I am done with that. I have been going grey since I was a teenager. I used to color my hair for fun. Shall I be red this month or black? I need constant change in my life or I get bored. Changing my hair helped me with that; however, after years and years of that, it eventually became a chore. I would see those roots and hate the way I look. So one day a few months back, I looked at myself in the mirror and decided I need to show myself, my son, my students, etc. that it is ok to be yourself. Grey hair doesn’t have to be something to hide; it is who I am. Grey doesn’t  have to equal old; it is just a color. And I have decided that I am going to rock that color. I am excited to grow out my natural color; I am excited to not be handcuffed to my hair dye every three weeks; I am excited to be more healthy for myself; I am excited to finally just be me. Third thing to do this summer? Remind myself to not care what others think and remind myself that I will rock this silver. Going grey isn’t for everyone and I have already received negative feedback, but not everyone has to like my quest to be healthy. You be you and I will be me. ❤

Displaying IMG_9538.JPG

It is summertime and those are my confessions. Saying them out loud (or typing them loudly!) is sort of cleansing for me. Thanks for listening. Is there anything you need to cleanse?

 

Leave a Reply

