The End of Summer

Today is officially my last day of summer. I woke up to my four-year-old sliding in bed with me and snuggling. There is no better way to start the day than that.

However, it makes the thought of waking up tomorrow and going to work a hard one. I am excited to have the new school year begin and excited to see my students from last year. Although, I would prefer to just play with my son all day…I am fully aware that I am so lucky to have a job that allows me so much time with him during the summer.
images

So tomorrow I must:

  • put away my lounging clothes and look like an adult again.
  • put some makeup on and fix my hair….I hope I remember how to look like a lady again.
  • wake up early…somehow.
  • get my chill son to get up and moving as soon as he wakes up. That is the hardest part of a new school year!
  • drink A LOT of coffee

imgres

Summer is washing away and I didn’t get all the writing done that I had hoped to do in the last two months. The past two summers resulted in self publishing books. I was hoping to do the same this summer, but it just didn’t work out. So when a goal doesn’t quite work out, just edit, edit, edit.

My goal was to have a book published every summer. However, the new goal is to keep writing and IF it is ready to be published by October, then do it! If it isn’t, then keep working until it is ready. It is easy to compare myself to other writers, but I have to remember NOT to. Everyone’s life is different. Some have time to write during the day. Some are able to write like the speed of light. Some have day jobs and night jobs. Some do not have children and some have to get caught up on Project Runway.   🙂

The point is that comparing yourself to others can be your downfall. It can be the seed of overwhelming self doubt. Be careful. Just focus on what you want to write and be happy with the outcome.

maya-angelou-quotes-on-writing

So to all the teachers: may your new school year be the best yet and to all the other writers: keep writing!

images-1

Leave a Reply

